Online users block
The Online users block shows a list of users who have been logged into the current course. The list is updated on a regular basis (the default is every 5 minutes but this may be changed – see below).
Note that even though a user may have been logged into a course within the last 5 minutes, it does not necessarily mean that this user is still online.
- If you hold the cursor over somebody’s name, you will see how long ago that person was last “seen” in the course
- If you click on the envelope icon next to somebody’s name, you will be able to send a private message to that person (using Moodle’s messaging system)
Note: If separate groups are enabled in a course and this block is added onto the course page, only members of the group will be displayed in the list.
- Add a new online users block to the Dashboard – allowed for the default role of authenticated user
- Add a new online users block to a course page – allowed for the default roles of manager and teacher
Site administration settings
The online users block has one setting which may be changed by an administrator in Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Blocks > Online users.
- block_online_users_timetosee – The number of minutes after which users will not be displayed in the list. The default is 5 minutes. You may want to adjust this if the list of users displayed is too long or too short.