Content

The process of adding students to courses is called Enrollment. This is different from adding users to the site, which is known as Authentication.

Let’s start with the authentication methods.

Authentication

There are two default authentication methods used more often in ScholarLMS.

  1. Email-based self-registration: The email-based self-registration authentication method enables users to create their own accounts via the ‘Register’ button on the login page. The user then receive an email at the specified used to confirm the account.
  2. Manual accounts: The account created by an administrator or manager manually. We will cover how to manually add a single user or bulk upload users in great detail in the following guide Managing user accounts

There is a possibility that your institute/company may not want learners to self register themselves. In such a case you can disable email-based self-registration authentication method. To do that, go to Settings->Advanced settings->Plugins->Authentication->Manage authentication and click on the eye ball icon. See the supporting screenshots below.

Manage authentication methods

Enrollment Methods

Now that you have covered how your learners should get into the system, we can move on to setup as to how they should be enrolled in a course. The methods we choose here will be available site-wide. Further, in a course you can locally enable/disable these methods or change their settings. There are five enrollment methods which come as default in your LMS.

    1. Manual enrollment: The manual enrollments method allows users to be enrolled manually via a link in the course administration settings. This method is necessary for several actions and must always be enabled.
    2. Self enrollment: Self enrollment is the method wherein users can choose to enroll themselves into a course, either immediately by clicking “enroll me in this course” or by typing in an enrollment key they have been given. The enrollment plugin needs to be enabled by the site admin and has to be enabled within the course. The manual enrollment plugin has to be enabled in the same course as well.
    3. Course Purchase (optional): In Course purchase method, a student is enrolled to the program after a successful purchase.
    4. Guest access (optional): The Guest access method allows users with the “Guest role” to view the contents of a course. This might be used, for example, if your site serves as a website where certain courses contain publicly available information, or where courses with guest access can offers a “taster” of the kind of courses which may be purchased. (Note that the guest cannot participate in any activities; they can only view content.)
    5. Cohort sync (optional): Cohort sync is for automatically enrolling members of a cohort in a course. If a user is added or removed from the cohort, they are automatically enrolled or un-enrolled respectively. In other words, cohort sync synchronizes cohort membership with course enrollment.

To access Enrollment methods of your site, go to Settings->Manage Enrollment Methods on the left side navigation. While navigating to the enrollment method page you shouldn’t disable three Enrollment methods as they are vital for running your site smoothly (see the screenshot below) but you can change their settings as per your requirements.

Manage enrollment methods

Was this article helpful to you?

Comments are closed.